had been originally under one government-that of Nova Scotia. In 1769 Prince Edward Island was granted a government of its own, and, fifteen years later, New Brunswick became a separate province. From time to time thoughtful men dwelling by the sea had given expression to a feeling that while this system of subdivision might tend to convenience of administration by the Imperial authorities, the petty jealousies and narrowness of view which it engendered were not favourable to the growth and development of a country whose natural position and resources were such as to qualify it to play a leading part among the nations of the world. Some of the bolder spirits among them looked forward to a union which should embrace all British North America, although latterly the interminable postponements, frequent political crises, and constant changes of policy in the Upper Provinces had caused the people of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island to give up hope of coming to an arrangement with Canada. They resolved, therefore, to confine their efforts to bringing about an alliance among themselves, and to that end the legislatures of the Maritime Provinces authorized their respective governments to hold a joint conference for the purpose of discussing the expediency of a union of the three provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island under one government and legislature. This happened most opportunely for the newly-formed coalition government of Canada, which was just then casting about for the best means of opening negotiations with the other British colonies looking to union. Learning of the concerted action contemplated by the governments of the Lower Provinces, they asked and obtained permission to lay their views before the Maritime Conference which assembled at Charlottetown on September 1, 1864.¹

At this conference, Nova Scotia was represented by the Hon. Charles Tupper, Premier and Provincial Secretary; the Hon. W. A. Henry, Attorney General; the Hon. R. B. Dickey, M.L.C.; the Hon. Jonathan McCully, M.L.C., and Adams G. Archibald.

New Brunswick was represented by the Hon. S. L. Tilley, Premier and Provincial Secretary; the Hon. J. M. Johnson, M.P.P., and Attorney-General; the Hon. John H. Gray, M.P.P.; the Hon. E. B. Chandler, M.L.C., and the Hon. W. H. Steeves, M.L.C.

Prince Edward Island was represented by Colonel the Hon. John Hamilton Gray, M.P.P., President of Executive Council; the Hon. Edward Palmer, M.L.C., Attorney-General; the Hon. W. H. Pope, M.P.P., Colonial Secretary; the Hon. George Coles, M.P.P., and the Hon. A. A. Macdonald, M.L.C.

Canada sent a delegation of eight members of its government to Charlottetown: The Hon. John A. Macdonald, M.P.P., Attorney-General, Upper Canada; the Hon. George E. Cartier, M.P.P., Attorney-General, Lower Canada; the Hon. George Brown, M.P.P.,

¹The illustration on page 4 represents a mural bronze commemorative tablet, placed in the old Legislative Council Chamber, Provincial Building, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary in 1914 of the meeting held at Charlottetown on September 1, 1864. It is reproduced from a photograph lent for the purpose by Major A. A. Bartlett, of Charlottetown.